Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Travel Gluten Free


Oct 29, 2018

Episode #23
Not So Scary Gluten-Free Candy
 
Happy Halloween my friend! In this episode, we are going to dive into spooky, scary and not so scary gluten-free Halloween Candy, which candy can you feed your little chocolate goblins. Just because it doesn't have gluten in its ingredients, doesn't mean its safe for celiacs.

Just Born

Peeps marshmellow treats are the candy you will most likely be familiar with from Just Born. What used to be an Easter treat is now a multi-holiday treat! In addition to Peeps, Just Born also produces Mike and Ike candies. Just Born claims the company's marshmallow candies are safe from cross-contamination if it states that they are gluten-free on the package. Some peeps may contain modified food starch however he modified food starch is corn-based according to Just Born.
 
The company claims the following candies are gluten-free:
  • Mike and Ike Berry Blast
  • Mike and Ike Italian ice
  • Mike and Ike Jolly Joe's
  • Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
  • Mike and Ike Original Fruits
  • Mike and Ike Redrageous
  • Mike and Ike Tangy twister
  • Mike and Ike at Tropical Typhoon
  • Mike and Ike's Zours
  • Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
  • Mike and Ike Hot Tamales
  • Goldenberg Peanut Chews
Hershey's (Kisses, Mounds & Reese's)

Hershey's maintains a list of gluten-free candies and updates it several times each year. As of fall 2018, the following Hershey's candies are considered gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million:

  • Almond Joy (all except for Almond Joy Pieces candy)
  • Mounds
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Kisses
  • Hershey's Special Dark Kisses
  • Hershey's Filled Chocolate Kisses, only in the following flavors:Hershey's HugsHershey's Nuggets, only in the following flavors: milk chocolate, milk chocolate with almonds, special dark chocolate with almonds, and extra creamy milk chocolate with toffee and almonds)
    • Milk Chocolate,
    • Chocolate Filled with Caramel
    • Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Creme
    • Vanilla Creme, Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle
    • Pumpkin Spice
    • Meltaway Milk Chocolates
    • Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar, only in the 1.55 oz. size
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar, only in the 1.45 oz. size
  • Hershey's Air Delight
  • Hershey's Milk Duds
  • Heath Bars
  • Payday
  • Reese's Fast Break bar
  • Reese's Nutrageous bar
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese's Pieces
  • Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate
  • Skor Toffee Bar
  • York Peppermint Pattie
 

Mars Chocolate products with no gluten ingredients:

  • M&M's (EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M's, which contain wheat, and crispy M&M's)
  • 3 Musketeers Bar
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar
  • Milky Way Caramel Bar
  • Dove Chocolate products (all flavors EXCEPT for milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream, and some holiday varieties, such as milk chocolate truffles)
  • Snickers Bars (all flavors)
  • Munch Nut Bar (the customer service representative urges consumers to check the labels on this one)

Necco (Mary Jane & Sweethearts)

Necco small sugar Valentine heart candies—the pastel-colored ones that say "Be Mine" are one of my most cherished candy memories as a child growing up. Remembering there is sweet little hearts from friends in Valentine cards and reading the sayings on the heart candies.

 

According to Necco, the following products do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley:

 
  • Necco Wafers
  • Necco Chocolate Wafers
  • Candy House Candy Buttons
  • Canada Mint, Wintergreen and Spearmint Lozenges
  • Mary Jane
  • Mary Jane Peanutbutter Kisses (available for Halloween only)
  • Banana Splits Chews
  • Mint Julep Chews
  • Haviland Thin Mints, Wintergreen Patty, Nonpareils and Chocolate Stars
  • Skybar
  • Sweethearts (for Valentine's Day only)
  • Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine's Day only)
  • Mary Jane peanut butter kisses (for Halloween only)
 
Nestle USA

Nestle USA labels a handful of candies and chocolate as "gluten-free," meaning the company has tested them and confirmed that they contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten:

  • Butterfinger bars, but only in fun size, singles, and share pack
  • Goobers
  • Nips
  • Raisinets (including Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
  • Toll House morsels and chunk

Tootsie Roll Industries (Tootsie Rolls & Charms)

Tootsie Roll Industries, which also makes Charms products, says that, as of fall 2018, all of the companies confections are considered gluten-free except Andes cookies. "Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process," reads the company website.

Tootsie Rolls Industries, theses are gluten-free:

  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Fruit Rolls
  • Junior Mints
  • Frooties
  • Dots
  • Tropical Dots
  • Crows
  • Cella's Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
  • Cella's Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
  • Junior Mints
  • Dubble Bubble
  • Charleston Chew
  • Junior Caramels
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Peppermint Pops
  • Caramel Apple Pops
  • Fruit Smoothie Pops
  • Tropical Stormz Pops
  • Child's Play
  • Charms Blow Pops
  • Charms Super Blow Pops
  • Charms Pops
  • Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
  • Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy
  • Sugar Daddy Pops
  • Sugar Mama Caramels
  • Charms Squares
  • Charms Sour Balls
  • Charms Candy Carnival
  • Pops Galore
  • Andes
 
Smarties
Many candies in the Smarties' line of products is considered gluten-free and vegan in the U.S. and is made in a gluten-free facility.
Smarties sells its products to different "re-baggers" and only re-baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of gluten or other allergens. "If the UPC number on the packaging begins with '0 11206,' you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities," which means it should be gluten-free," the company says. Smarties Gummies contain no gluten ingredients but are manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat-containing products. Smarties sold in Canada contain wheat flour—always check the label to make sure you're buying the gluten-free type.

Wrigley (Lifesavers, Skittles & Starburst)

Although Wrigley's online gluten-free statement is most products are gluten-free but some might not be, and failing to specify which products contain gluten, the company claims that all Wrigley products in the U.S. are considered gluten-free except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint Mints (which always have wheat maltodextrin) In the U.S., these products are considered free of any gluten sources, according to the company; but I'm not sure I would trust a company that can't agree with itself, so I would say these are off my list of safe candy!

Wrigley also makes:

  • Creme Savers
  • Lifesavers
  • Skittles
  • Starburst Sadie

Jelly Belly

Jelly Belly "all Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free, gelatin-free, vegetarian and OU Kosher." This includes licorice-flavored gluten-free Jelly Belly jelly beans. Jelly Belly also makes gluten-free candy corn for Halloween. No coming here

Tic Tac Mints

Tic Tac mints are produced by the Italian confection manufacturer Ferrero and have been sold for more than 40 years. Ferrero states that Tic Tac mints do not contain any ingredients derived from the gluten grains wheat, barley, rye, oats or tritical.


Not gluten-free candy

The following Hershey's products are NOT gluten-free:

  • Hershey's Special Dark Bar
  • Hershey's Cookies 'N' Creme Bar
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Drops
  • Hershey's Miniatures (any flavor)
  • Mr. Goodbar
  • Symphony Bar
  • Hershey's Extra Dark Chocolate
  • Hershey's Kisses that were not mentioned in the kissing is safe category mentioned at the beginning of the podcast on the gluten-free list above
 

The following Mars Chocolate are not safe for celiacs:

  • M&M Pretzel flavor and Crispy flavor
  • seasonal flavored M&Ms
  • Milky Way Bar (original)
  • Mars Bar
  • Mars Combos (a snack mix)
 

The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten-free:

  • Butterfinger Crisp Bar
  • Butterfinger Giant Bar
  • Butterfinger Snackerz
  • Butterfinger Medallions
  • Butterfinger Jingles
  • Butterfinger Hearts
  • Butterfinger Pumpkins
  • Kit Kat Bar
  • Wonka Nerds
  • Wonka Bar (all flavors)
  • Chewy Spree
  • Wonka Gummies
  • Wonka Kazoozles
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
  • 100 Grand Bar
The following Jelly Belly candy is NOT gluten-free:
  • Chocolate Malt Balls
  • Chocolate Bridge Mix
  • Licorice Bridge Mix
  • Black Licorice Buttons
  • Licorice Pastels
  • seasonal mixes sold around the holidays which contain malt balls

Contact Information
Just Born | 888-645-3453
Necco | 781-485-4800
Hershey's | 800-468-1714
Mars Chocolate | 800-627-7852
Nestle USA | 800-225-2270
Tootsie Roll Industries | 773-838-3400
Wrigley | (800) 974-4539
Ferrero (Tic Tac) | 732-764-9300
 
Top View NYC
Going to NYC this fall? Want to get in all the highlights on a great tour? The tours I like are the open-air hop on, hop off bus tours which you can hangout as little or as long as you like! Pop in your headphones to the bus tour audio, sit back, relax and enjoy the narrated ride. If you are looking for the best sightseeing tour in NYC, I suggest Top View New York City.

In addition to bus tours, you can tour the city with Top View New York City through their very cool cruise tours on the water, bike tours and bike rentals as well. Click the link to book your NYC tour starting at just $29!

Auto Europe
With a car rental from Auto Europe, you can make changes to your rental at any time for no additional fee. If you ever need to cancel your car rental, you can do so and receive a full refund as long as it is done at least three days prior to the pick up date Book today to lock in these great rates! Free upgrades in select countries when you book your rental with us. Click here for 30% off car rentals worldwide!
 
Support Travel Gluten Free!
For as little as $3 a month, become a show sponsor through Patreon.com Support the podcast which supports you, Travel Gluten Free!
 
Air B'n'B Discount
Looking for a warm getaway this year? Find your place to stay on Air B'n'B! Click here for a link to receive $40 credit towards your stay!
 
Float Away...
Have you experienced floating? No? It's an experience like no other! Relax and float weightless in a pool of salt water. I found it very helpful for relieving the pain of Fibromyalgia! Click here to book your session with Sync Float use code cx-604250
 
Journey with Travel Gluten Free on Social Media
 
 
Spread the love of Travel Gluten Free podcast and share this episode with a friend!